Public holidays Dubrovnik and Croatia (Events and National holidays)

General Information

There is nothing more irritating than arriving in a foreign country and finding everything closed due to a public or national holiday. Being a catholic country, many of the public holidays in Croatia are religious-based.

Together with the traditional holidays like New Year, Christmas and Labour Day, there are also festivities to celebrate independence day and victory day. Smaller grocery shops and markets may well be open, together with some larger supermarkets. Bars and restaurants are generally open during those days, especially during tourist season.

In Dubrovnik we celebrate a special (unofficial) holiday on February 3, the day of Saint Blaise (sv. Vlaho). St. Blaise is the protector of Dubrovnik. Citizens of Dubrovnik celebrate him since the time he saved Dubrovnik from the Arabs. According to the legend, he appeared in a dream of a town's rector and nobleman, warning him about the attack. It is believed that he was a Christian priest in Little Asia in the 4th century.

During these 5-6 days of festivities citizens of Dubrovnik are reminded of the value of freedom and importance of kindness to each other. An interesting fact is that, according to the law of Dubrovnik Republic, criminals and other offenders were set free from prosecution on St. Blaise day.


Holidays in Croatia in 2016

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
Jan 6 Wednesday Epiphany National holiday
Mar 20 Sunday March equinox Season
Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day National holiday
Mar 28 Monday >Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Sunday Labor Day / May Day National holiday
May 26 Thursday Corpus Christi National holiday
Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
Jun 22 Wednesday Day of Antifascist Struggle National holiday
Jun 25 Saturday Statehood Day National holiday
Aug 5 Friday Homeland Thanksgiving Day National holiday
Aug 15 Monday Assumption of Mary National holiday
Sep 22 Thursday September equinox Season
Oct 8 Saturday Independence Day National holiday
Nov 1 Tuesday All Saints' Day National holiday
Dec 21 Wednesday December Solstice Season
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day National holiday
Dec 26 Monday St Stephen's Day National holiday

Last update: 29.3.2016